Assessment of Water Stresses in Southwest Louisiana: Effects of Uncertainties in Water Resources Availability

Hisham Eldardiry, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, PO Box 40404, Lafayette, LA, 70504: hae5018@louisiana.edu; Emad Habib, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, PO Box 42291, Lafayette, LA, 70504: habib@louisiana.edu; and David Borrok, School of Geosciences, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA, 70504: …

Continue reading

A Geospatial Framework for Cataloguing and Analyzing Surface Water and Groundwater Withdraw Information

Fabiane Barato, School of Geosciences, Louisiana of Louisiana at Lafayette, LA, 70504: fabianebarato@gmail.com, Whitney P. Broussard III, Institute for Coastal Ecology and Engineering, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA 70504: wbroussard@louisiana.edu; David M. Borrok, School of Geosciences, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA 70504: dborrok@louisiana.edu, and Daniel Conlin, …

Continue reading

Conjunctive Use of Surface Water and Groundwater for Northern Louisiana

Amir Mani, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, amani1@lsu.edu; and Frank T.-C. Tsai, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, ftsai@lsu.edu A conjunctive-use model is developed for management of groundwater and surface water resources via mixed integer …

Continue reading

The Use of Floating Islands to Enhance Dairy Wastewater Treatment in Southeast Louisiana

Vinicius Moreira, Southeast Research Station, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, vmoreira@lsu.edu; Brian D. LeBlanc, Agriculture Center School of Plant, Environment and Soil Sciences and Louisiana Sea Grant, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, blebl28@lsu.edu; and Eric C. Achberger, School of Biological Sciences, , Louisiana State University, Baton …

Continue reading

Spatial Analysis and Modeling of Land-Use and Land Cover Change Effects on Water Quality: Boeuf River Watershed

Maryam Roostaee, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803: mroost2@lsu.edu; and Zhi-Qiang Deng, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803: zdeng@lsu.edu. Excessive amount of nutrients in surface waters in Mississippi River Basin has led to undesirable growth of …

Continue reading

Deposition of Nitrogen and Sulfur to Louisiana Water Bodies

Hao Guo, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, hguo8@lsu.edu; Fenglin Han, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, fhan3@lsu.edu; and Hongliang Zhang, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803, hlzhang@lsu.edu. Wet …

Continue reading

Basic Water Resource Information Made Easy—Avoiding Overload and Underload: Water Resource Fact Sheets for Each of Louisiana’s Parishes

Vincent E. White, United States Geological Survey, 3535 South Sherwood Forest Blvd. Suite 120, Baton Rouge, LA 70816: vwhite@usgs.gov The United State Geological Survey/Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Water Resources of Louisiana Parishes project has passed the half-way mark towards achieving this goal with the publication of 34 online …

Continue reading

Agricultural Irrigation Water Management Using Soil Moisture Sensors in Row Crops

Stacia L. Davis, Louisiana State University, Agricultural Center Red River Research Station, 262 Research Station Drive, Bossier City, LA, 71112: sdavis@agcenter.lsu.edu Soil moisture sensor systems can be effective tools in agricultural irrigation water management plans by helping the producer to select irrigation initiation, alleviating stress within the growing season, and …

Continue reading

From Geophysical Well Logs to Hydrogeological Model: Learning Through a Visual and Technology Intensive Course

Carrier, A., Department of Geology & Geophysics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, acarr18@lsu.edu; Choi, M., Department of Geology & Geophysics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, mchoi2@lsu.edu,; Gowdy, S., Department of Geology & Geophysics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803, sgowdy2@lsu.edu; Hoefeld, R., Department of Geology …

Continue reading

Modeling Water Quality in Breton Sound Estuary, LA

Kelin Hu, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803: khu@lsu.edu; Q. Jim Chen, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803: qchen@lsu.edu; and Hongqing Wang, USGS Wetland and Aquatic Research Center, Baton Rouge, LA, 70803: wangh@usgs.gov How will freshwater diversion projects and sea level rise affect ecosystem structure and functions in …

Continue reading