Impact of Microalgae/Cyanobacteria Co-culture on Sugar Mill Effluents

Jacob Foy, Civil and Environmental Engineering Department Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70808: jfoy3@tigers.lsu.edu, Teresa Gutierrez-Wing, Civil and Environmental Engineering Department Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70808: mgutie5@lsu.edu   The search for alternative sustainable fuel sources has led to microalgae, an eco-friendly candidate that has low impact on…

Continue reading

Assessing The Efficiency Of Alternative Best Management Practices To Reduce Nonpoint Source Pollution In The Saline Bayou Watershed, Louisiana

Bijay Kumar Pokhrel Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA Email bpokhr1@tigers.lsu.edu; and Krishna P.Paudel Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, USA kpaudel@agcenter.lsu.edu   Nonpoint source (NPS) pollution is one of the major sources of water pollution in the United States. Pollution from agriculture sources primarily from fertilizer and manure applications has…

Continue reading

Tailwater recovery system as a best management practice to improve irrigation water quantity and quality in Louisiana

Changyoon Jeong, 262 Research Station Road, Red River Research Station, LSU AgCenter, Bossier City, LA, 71112: cjeong@agcenter.lsu.edu. Ernest Girouard, 1373 Caffey Road, Rice Research Station, LSU AgCenter, Rayne, LA 70578: EGirouard@agcenter.lsu.edu. Patrick Colyer, 262 Research Station Road, Red River Research Station, LSU AgCenter, Bossier City, LA, 71112: pcolyer@agcenter.lsu.edu.   Tailwater…

Continue reading

GIS Analysis of Lake Pontchartrain Water Quality before and After the Bonnet Carré Spillway Opening in 2011

Adebayo Segun (sadebay@tulane.edu), Reda Amer (ramer1@tulane.edu) Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences, Tulane University 6823 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118   This study focuses on the application of GIS analysis of Lake Pontchartrain’s water quality data through 2011, with emphasis on temporal and spatial changes as well as…

Continue reading

Surface water use to counterbalance groundwater withdrawals in Southwest Louisiana

David M. Borrok, School of Geosciences, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA 70504: dborrok@louisiana.edu; Emad Habib, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA 70504: habib@louisiana.edu; Whitney P. Broussard, III, Institute for Coastal Ecology and Engineering, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA 70504: Wbroussard@louisiana.edu; JoAnne…

Continue reading

Impact of land use on concentrations of ions, Total Dissolved Solids, and Total Suspended Solids in East Baton Rouge Parish

Douglas Carlson Louisiana Geological Survey, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 70803-001 Past studies in the Baton Rouge, Louisiana area considered stream water quality during storm events but ignored water quality during low flow periods. This study includes determination of stream water quality during low flow time periods for 9…

Continue reading

Water Usage Issues in Southwest Louisiana

Michael Tritico, RESTORE, P.O. Box 233, Longville, LA 70652 michaeltritico@yahoo.com , Paul Ringo, Sabine Riverkeeper, 2090 Mouth of the Creek Road, Merryville, LA 70653 paul.ringo0815@gmail.com   Safe drinking water for humans must be acknowledged as the highest, best use of any of Louisiana source of fresh water. A Policy of…

Continue reading