Comparative performance evaluation of coal combustion products in industrial wastewater treatment

Yibo Chen and Sanjay Tewari Department: Civil Engineering of Louisiana Tech University, P.O. Box 10348, Ruston, LA 71272-0046 Ruston, Louisiana, 71270.Email Address: ych017@latech.edu; stewari@latech.edu. Utilizing waste products from one industry to treat industrial wastewater is environment friendly and economical. Fly ash is a carbon waste from coal-fired power plants. It…

Continue reading

Design and construction of a salt and fresh water well couple to intercept saltwater migrating into the Southern Hills Aquifer system

R. “Randy” Hollis, P.E., Post Office Box 66396, Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6396: randy@owenandwhite.com; Roy A. Waggenspack, P.E., Post Office Box 66396, Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6396: roy@owenandwhite.com     Saltwater intrusion into the Southern Hills Aquifer system in East Baton Rouge Parish is of great concern to both public and industrial…

Continue reading

Mandatory Disclosure of Hydraulic Fracturing Water Composition

Keith B. Hall Louisiana State University Law Center 1 East Campus Drive Baton Rouge, LA 70803 keith.hall@law.lsu.edu   Historically, the companies that perform hydraulic fracturing kept the composition of their fracturing fluids confidential, treating the compositions as trade secrets. But in recent years, many people have become concerned that hydraulic…

Continue reading

Optimal Groundwater Observation Network Design for Model Discrimination under Conceptual Model Uncertainty: Case Study for Baton Rouge Aquifer System, Louisiana

Hai V. Pham, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, 3525 Patrick F. Taylor Hall, Baton Rouge, LA 70803: hpham28@lsu.edu; Frank T.-C. Tsai, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Louisiana State University, 3418G Patrick F. Taylor Hall, Baton Rouge, LA 70803: ftsai@lsu.edu        Groundwater systems are complex…

Continue reading

Science and Regulation of Arsenic in Groundwater

Kate Magee, 616 FM 1960 Road West #575, Houston, TX 77090: kate.magee@c-ka.com   Arsenic is commonly associated with oil and gas, mining, manufacturing, and agricultural sites. It may be either naturally-occurring or an introduced contaminant. In cases where arsenic has been released into the environment, site-specific geochemical conditions dictate its…

Continue reading

Climate change impacts on surface water and groundwater recharge of southwestern Mississippi and southeastern Louisiana

Ehsan Beigi and Frank T.-C. Tsai Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, 3418G Patrick F. Taylor Hall, Louisiana State University E-mail: ebeigi3@lsu.edu; ftsai@lsu.edu;   This study conducts uncertainty analysis on future region-scale hydrologic projections under the uncertain climate change projections of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Fifth Assessment…

Continue reading